Hingpit


Maize (finely grated corn)
11 September 2009, 10:44 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Food

I come from the land of corn-eaters.  I suppose I am the only member of the family who is fond of eating maize.  Cebu is a corn-producing province thus maize is cheaper than rice. Maize is cooked like rice is cooked and is eaten like rice during meals.  I first ate maize in my early 20’s.  The househelp was eating humba and maize for merienda and I joined in.  That afternoon, I was hooked on maize.

I accidentally found Yellow Maize Kibbled, Product of Australia, at our local Asian supermarket.  The owner renovated the shop and filled it with a variety of Asian goodies.  The product states; ‘Maize is cholesterol free.  It provides an excellent source of fibre; good source of iron & thiamin, moderate source of protein & niacin.” There you go!

Hubby tasted my maize at dinner and liked it.  One down, three family members to go …  I’ll program my son next.

maizmaiz with beef

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

