Hingpit


Dry but Oily Adobo
22 August 2009, 7:58 pm
Filed under: Chicken, Family, Food, Pork

Adobo in my family’s circle of relatives, neighbours and friends is cooked in the same manner: dry but oily. To say that all Cebuanos have the same style or that all Filipino adobo recipes contain soy sauce is, I think, an inaccurate generalization.  One story tells that soy sauce in adobo is a modification by the Chinese.  My understanding of my family’s joke — nagmantika ang baba (oily mouth) — comes from eating too much oily adobo.

Again as I come from another region, the identity of adobo is altered. Suka and sili, anyone?

Ingredients
Combination pork and chicken
Vinegar
Garlic (lots)
Bay leaf (2-3)
Black peppercorns (lots)
Cooking oil
1 chicken stock cube
salt

Procedure
Combine all ingredients but only 2 tbsp of vinegar, garlic, peppercorn, bay leaf, salt and chicken cube and marinade for 30 minutes.

Transfer the marinated ingredients in a large frying pan, cover and cooked slowly at a low temperature. When the meat is dry, add oil stirring constantly so the meat cooks evenly until golden brown.  Before turning off the stove, turn to high heat and immediately splash 1tbsp of vinegar, do not cover. Turn off the stove and remove the pan.
adoboceb2vinegar and sili

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

‘Day, mao ni siya’y gitawag sa Cebu ug humba no? Kanang morag tambok tanan nya naay gamay nga unod magpatong 🙂

Comment by senn

Hi Senn,

Many thanks for dropping by. Humba is na’ay brown sugar, di ba? I think what many call humba, including me, is the Tagalog equivalent to adobo. Mama’s humba has the 1:1 ratio on brown sugar and vinegar.

Comment by hingpit

Hi !

This looks really yummy!

I’m compiling a list of all the different ways to cook adobo in a quest to find what a true filipino adobo is today, and I’m happy to include your adobo recipe in my article at http://kumain.com/1001-adobo-recipes/. I hope you don’t mind the link from my site to yours =)

Keep in touch!

Comment by tanyaregala

Apologies for the late reply. I have been distracted by Facebook and unable to update my food blog. I don’t think there will ever be a final or what is THE recipe for Filipino adobo. The style is constantly evolving. Many thanks for visiting.

Comment by hingpit

[…] Hingpit’s Dry but Oily Adobo […]

Pingback by 1001 Adobo Recipes Recipe | Kumain.com




Leave a Reply

