Hingpit


Tinunuang Lambay (Blue Crabs in Coconut milk/cream)
1 August 2009, 11:25 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Family, Food, Seafood

An uncle and auntie, my father’s sister, owned a 16-hectare fishpond in Mindanao.  During summer visits, I remember being served with bangus (milkfish), pansat (prawn), tilapia and alimango (mud crabs) almost every meal.

The medium sized tilapia on the table was a surprise.  Someone in my family in Cebu must have programmed me early in life that the tilapia comes from the ‘canal’ and ‘dirty’ and we don’t eat it.

The program malfunctioned when I first tasted the deep fried crispy tilapia.  I was cautioned from eating too much of the tilapia and alimango when I developed rashes on my back.  My cousins, fed up to eating fishpond harvest, were passing on the crab red/orange female fat – alege on my plate.  The nutritional regime when visiting my relatives in Mindanao was diverse and refreshing.  As I am writing this article, I am wondering what happened to those turtles in the washbasin.  Turtle soup?

The seafood allergy has resurfaced when I turned …ty something, at a certain age I should say.  I decided to buy the blue swimmers instead of the mud crabs at the seafood shop  last week as a pack of 4 blue swimmers was half the price of one big mud crab (not for me but for other family members to enjoy).

Ingredients:
4 blue swimmers crabs
Garlic, minced
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 onion
½ cup water
1 piece red chilli
1 can coconut milk/cream
Salt and pepper
1 chicken stock cube

Procedure:
Sauté garlic, onion and ginger in oil
Add crabs and water, stir until crabs turn pink
Add coconut milk/cream, chicken cube, salt and pepper to taste and let boil, cover
Cook for around 10-15 minutes, stirring occassionally
Garnish with chopped spring onions and red chillialimango3
crabs

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

