Hingpit


‘Mum, you’re a good cooker …’
4 July 2009, 10:14 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Family, Food, Pork

‘… even if you got it from TV’, my 7-year old son lovingly declared with a tight hug.  Has he been spying on me?  Is it now becoming obvious that I am ‘spending’ too many hours watching cooking shows?  Could it be that my relentless pursuit to upgrade my culinary capabilities has ultimately paid off?

One blogger stated that a ‘dirty kitchen is a happy kitchen’.  Ha? Or should I say duh! She has not seen my kitchen.  The type of dirt she might have in her kitchen is the respectable variety.  Probably she means a messy kitchen … well, who am I to question her.  Her web site has the 50 Coolest Websites seal at the front.  Her thin pancakes recipe is now recorded in my tryout book.  I must try the different way she poached eggs and … oh so many interesting items in her site.  I will visit soon but will be extra careful as my computer is currently placed in my son’s room.

My reputation is still intact, my son is oblivious to my other diversion, food and recipe blogging.

Pork Afritada

Ingredients
4 pieces Pork Loin chops
1 cup diced pork liver
1 cup large onion, diced
2 cloves garlic
1 cup diced carrots
1 cup diced celery
1 cup red capsicum
1 cup tomato sauce
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried rosemary
2 cups vegetable or chicken stock or water
2 tbsp liver spread
salt and pepper
fish sauce

Procedure
Heat oil in pan and add meat (don’t overcrowd) and brown each side. 
Remove and set aside.
Using the same pan, sauté garlic, onion, carrots, celery, and capsicum.
Add the tomato sauce, vegetable/chicken/water stock, liver spread and bring to the boil then add the browned pork chops and pork liver, oregano, and rosemary.
Bring to the boil again, then turn down the heat to a simmer and cover.
Add fish sauce, salt and pepper to taste.  Simmer for 45 minutes or until tender.

*note: Cooked afritada sans the sabaw.  My son likes sabaw (soup) on his rice.  He can’t have his rice without the extra flavour of the sabaw or sauce.  He had lots of sabaw for his lunch, pre photo session.

Porkloin chops

porkliver

afritada

afritada2

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

