Hingpit


Flat Scones
30 June 2009, 3:19 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Family, Food

I struggled to keep up with the instructions provided by Chef Ian Hewitson of Huey’s Cooking Adventures as he was preparing to cook his scones on TV.  Watching and writing at the same time was a struggle.

The first scones experiment was a disaster.  ‘I don’t eat that’, my son said.  He was more excited to eat the tub of the ready to serve double thick fresh cream.  An even more struggle for hubby who tried to convince our kids to recognize the value of my effort.  ‘Almost there, dear’, he said trying to crunch into the hard product based from the recipe called Classic Scones.

What could go wrong with the second experiment?  I’ve seen the whole procedure on TV and I have jotted down the ingredients.  ‘How come this is flat’, hubby said.  I intentionally did not cut the dough into rounds – it is easier to throw one big flat ‘scone’ in the bin than hiding eight to ten round disasters.

It tasted all right and a little fine-tuning is essential.

scones1flatsconesscones2scones3

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is my fave recipe. I just roll it into a circle and then cut it with a pizza cutter, separate the sections and bake!!

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Simple-Scones/Detail.aspx

sooo yummy

Comment by The Informal Matriarch

Many thanks, The Informal Matriarch for the link. I hope to perfect the recipe for my own sake.

Comment by hingpit




Leave a Reply

