Hingpit


Budbud Pilit
8 June 2009, 1:50 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Family, Food

I am sure that by combing Google, one would unearth thousands of tested and tasted budbud recipes which are identified by different names seasoned from different regions.

My palate is committed to my childhood memory. Growing up in a City where everyone knew everyone and everyone’s business, as well, was a privilege. A City “discovered” by a Portuguese sea captain in 1521.   I remember a place where there was a strong sense of community.  As the old African proverb goes, “It takes a community to raise a child.” Gratefully, I benefited from this community.

My brother, who not only grew up in the same City but also worked for the City, carried out his first experiment on budbud pilit.  His job gave him the opportunity to meet with small businesses and market stallholders. Hence, he picked up dribs and drabs of family trade secrets.

Finally, the hunt is over.  It is the budbud I remember from my childhood.  The budbud from the City where my family has recorded ties since the 1800’s.

What is next? The secret of Bibingka?

budbudwebbudbud2webbudbud3web

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

