Hingpit


Mother-Daughter Bonding
8 January 2009, 11:11 pm
Filed under: Family, General

Like a debutante who ‘has reached the age of maturity’, my mother decided that it was time for her to introduce me, not to the community of upper class family, but to the community of her reliable sukis from the local mercado.  Many ‘new adults’ dreamed of wearing a Louis Vuitton bag, stepping into Gucci shoes, or wearing a feminine and romantic Oscar de la Renta number to the formal presentation.  In my case, I was contended clutching my mother’s over-used native bukag (basket) and gaited  to the market place with my rubber tsinelas.

We walked around and she guided me to Suki #1.  Fishmongers; A husband and wife team who knew my father’s relatives in Bogo.  Suki # 2 had all the shellfish; squids, shrimps, crabs, mussels, and clams, guso, lato and other strange looking sea creatures.  Suki #3 was owned by a former student whose stand displayed a colourful array of assorted vegetables and fruits.  Suki # 4 hugged and kissed my mother, a co-teacher who retired and invested her retirement money in a meat and poultry business.

My mother taught me the essential secrets, basic instructions, and creative tricks which to me constitute the basic education on the skills of life. The wet, hot and stinky ballroom I was presented into was the Mother-Daughter Bonding I treasured most.

How would my 14-year old daughter and I bond? Would she be interested in updating old family photos? Would she be comfortable to just sit and talk to me?

bhands

My 14-year old daughter's hands

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

