Hingpit


DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Osso Bucco and Pumpkin soup
6 January 2009, 8:34 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Food

I woke up with a splitting headache this morning; I stuffed myself at dinner last night. I can’t hold it back any longer; as I continue to grow old..er, my digestive system is apparently not catching up with the amazing speed at which my age is running.  Here is the source of my pain this morning.

3 beef shanks
1 large onion (diced)
1 large carrot (peeled and diced)
1 celery stalk (diced)
2 cloves garlic (finely chopped)
1 can diced tomatoes with oregano and basil
1 litre vegetable stock or beef stock
salt and pepper to taste

Heat pan and add oil and sauté beef shanks on both sides until brown
Remove the shanks from the pan, set aside
Sauté the garlic, onions, carrots, celery
Add the vegetable or beef stock and diced tomatoes with oregano and basil
Bring all ingredients to the boil then add the shanks and cover
Bring to the boil again, then turn down the heat to a simmer and cover
Cook slowly for about two hours turning the meat from time to time so that all of it gets a chance to soak up the flavours
Serve with rice or pasta

ossobucco

ossogone

Pumpkin Soup – my family did not like it but I’ve posted the photos, nevertheless.

pumpkin

soup

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

