Hingpit


Dragon Fruit
3 January 2009, 5:13 pm
Filed under: Fruit/Plant, General

My older sister started collecting cacti and succulent plants in the mid 70’s.  She got married and migrated to Australia in 1978 and I took over her collection.  I probably won’t be able to break off the charm of these plants.  As I mellowed, the need to acquire more for the collection comes simply out of habit and not out of necessity.

The dragon fruit belongs to the cactus family.  The cutting I got from a friend in Cebu, prior to migrating, died as I planted it straightaway.  What attracted me most was the flower but I was not aware that the fruit was eatable.

This is project number 37 in my ‘To do List’: 37.  To visit the garden centre to buy red dragon and yellow dragon plants to become skilled at growing dragon fruit commercially for retirement income – back home.

dragonfruit1


openfruit

Photo by Heart Garden Nursery (heartgarden.com.au)

Photo by Heart Garden Nursery (heartgarden.com.au)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

