Hingpit


To market, to market
30 December 2008, 2:25 pm
Filed under: Family, General

I have always retained my childlike view on religion, much to the frustration, I think, of my hubby.  Hubby has a different ‘religion’ or should I say ‘political ideology’.  Where was I again?  Oh! Back to the market episode.

My daughter came home one day singing this amusing nursery rhyme:

‘To market to market with my brother Jim
When somebody threw a tomato at him
Tomatoes are soft and they don’t hurt the skin
But this one killed Jim it was wrapped in a tin’

Hubby made a comment that many of the popular nursery rhymes taught to young children are violent.  My Gosh!  Were they? I finally realized he is right.  Jack and Jill, Humpty Dumpty, Rock-a-Bye Baby, Oh My Darling, Clementine, There was an old woman, and more.   Was I not reading between the lines when reciting these songs?  Luckily not: I was one of the many lucky young children whose childlike view does not only apply to religion.

Let’s say for argument’s sake that these nursery rhymes should be classified.  What would it be? Perhaps I should amend the title of this column to Nursery Rhymes Exposed.

cJack and Jill, rated “C” – intended for children

pgHumpty Dumpty, rated  “PG” – Parental Guidance

pRock-a-Bye Baby, rated “P” – intended for pre-schoolers

m3There was an old woman,  rated “MA15+”  – intended to 15 and over

mOh My Darling, Clementine,  rated “M” – intended for mature audiences

eOR rated “E” – Exempt from classification

pc300214

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

